28 Comments

It’s a Skars-A-Thon: Generation Kill

It has been a Skarsdrought with Alex off filming Tarzan the Untamed, True Blood off the air, The Giver still in theaters, and no official word on when Diary of a Teenage Girl or Hidden will be released. My TV is tired of me pouting at its blank screen. So what is a fan girl to do? Have a Skars-A-Thon.

Skars-A-ThonVerb – To watch and rewatch your Alexander Skarsgård library while waiting for his next project to be released.

And what better way to start me off then the mini series that first brought Alexander Skarsgård to HBO: Generation Kill.

GK poster

The What: Generation Kill is a 7 part mini series produced by HBO based on the best selling book by Rolling Stone journalist Evan Wright as he chronicled his time with the First Marine Recon Unit during the start of Iraq War.

The Who: Alex took on the role of Sgt Brad “Iceman” Colbert.

The Why: I found GK after Alex caught my interest on True Blood and I wanted to see more of his work. Plus, i knew he would be in uniform. I was not disappointed on either front. Definitely not a girlie show, it was a brilliantly crafted show that takes us along for the ride of beginning of the war… with all its cracks. As well as what its like in a humvee with 3-4 other people, giving us a glimpse of how close knit a group they became as they sang on down the road… or broke the chain of command because it was the right thing to do. Alex blew me aways with his performance as usual with no words. I mean, you can literally see it in his eyes as he looses faith in some of what happens in the name of war and the need to follow the chain of command.

But then he is the Iceman, and he kept his crew in line… no matter what, you Stay Frosty.

generation-kill25

genkill03

About B

Really, there is never enough Eric... I'm loyal to the Viking, no matter what. I will love him whether in Book, Show, and just because... my first thoughts are of him and I close my eyes to dream of him. As far as I'm concerned, the night can not get here soon enough.

28 comments on “It’s a Skars-A-Thon: Generation Kill

  1. Good for you B 🙂 …. I have watched GK more than I like to admit but I really like this show. I also read Evan’s book and that was awesome too (learnt quite a few new swear words)

    Alex shines in this series. The amount of emotion he conveys with just his eyes alone….Well I could go on and on about his eyes 😉 …

    Great to see posts still coming up in this space.

  2. I’m like you! I found GK on HBO after seeing Alex in TB and wanting to see more of his work. I realize now that, even though I always considered myself a “Truebie”, in the past 7 years I only ever bought the first 2 seasons of True Blood on DVD and, since the show has ended, I haven’t even thought about snapping up any more seasons on DVD. However, as soon as I could, I went out and bought Generation Kill and I still love it! It’s gritty and absolutely different from TB but Alex is fantastic as is the rest of the cast. BTW, there is a great commentary on one of the episodes by Alex and James Ransone. So now, looking back, I realize that as much as I enjoyed most of the other characters on TB, I don’t think I’m really a “Truebie” after all but rather more of a “Skarsgirl” and probably just a plain old “Viking Wench” (love that term 🙂 ) because I really only read the True Blood books for “Eric” and no other reason.

  3. Thanks B , I am missing Alex very much. I think watching Gen Kill again is a great idea. I have been watching several of his films too. I’ve watched The East, Disconnect, and Straw Dogs over the last week. So it helps some too.

    I am so waiting for a pic of him from Tarzan, which I know we probably won’t get for a long while yet. I sure hope time flys by so July 2016 will get here sooner than later. LOL

    Well, I gotta run as it is getting late here and I need to catch up on some sleep. If I’m lucky maybe I’ll have a fabulous Alex dream tonite! Thanks for the idea once again!!

  4. I finally had a chance to sit down and watch GK for the first time On Demand last week, and I loved it! A lot of it was tough to watch — as is any true war story for me — but it was wonderfully written and acted. Not only was Alex incredible, but so were many of his co-stars.

  5. I only bought GK for Alex and while he was great as always, it’s not something I will be watching a second time. I didn’t really like it all that much. I’d prefer to rewatch some of his other movies, like The East, What Maisie Knew, or Disconnect. Not a fan of Straw Dogs or Melancholia, but I really can’t wait for Tarzan.

  6. Great pick B! Loved Generation Kill and like you, only looked for it after being introduced to Alex via True Blood. If you have Netflix, you can stream What Maise Knew, Melancholia and Zoolander and you can rent Disconnect and The East through Amazon Prime.

  7. I never saw GK…I never liked war stories before but I’m going to give GK a chance.Can’t wait for Tarzan though…Take care everybody
    r

  8. I’ve told HBO that Generation Kill should be reshown on every holiday that has to
    do with soldiers…Memorial Day,July 4th,Veteran’s Day,Labour Day & Thanksgiving
    But they’ve still not taken my suggestion…Also films like “Bringing Chance Home”
    should also be shown on these days/

  9. I absolutely love Generation Kill. I bought it during season 1 of TB. Alex is great as a marine. Stay frosty! This show is a great recommendation to get over some of our Alex withdrawls.

  10. Oh yeah. The running around in the grass? I clearly lost his ever – loving – mind for a bit 🙂
    Night watch again too.
    Stay Frosty!! Lol forgot that one 🙂

  11. LOL I literally just did that over the weekend last weekend!!

  12. I too watched GK to get more Alex after season two of TB and loved it! I do so miss seeing our “Viking” on a regular basis. Has anyone seen The Giver? What did you think? I’ve been so busy with work I haven’t had two hours to sit without falling asleep!

  13. I’m really glad you’re continuing to talk up Alex’s work, past and present. He is one of the most talented artists I’ve ever seen, and he deserves all the accolades. Thank you. 🙂

  14. Sometimes we gotta do what we gotta do. I’m ready to get into some GK now. Hope I can find it on On Demand, lol.

  15. Anybody seen the movie “13” ? It’s a very good thriller and Alex has a small but impressive role … unfortunatley, you can only watch it on DVD.

    • I saw it, definitely won’t go up there as one of my favorites.

      • I’ve seen 13 as well. VERY dark subject matter, and the leading man has a cute face but is not a compelling actor IMO, but Alex is very good as always.

      • Well, Alex stated he has also a dark soul … he said he would like to play the step-father in Lolita, so you better start to realize he doesn’t want to play only romantic guys. He is aiming for roles with controversial characters … like in Straw Dog for example ! Wait and see a teenager’s diairies …no more Mister nice guy. I admit I find Alex much more interesting as an actor in such roles than when he plays prince charming or silly dummy characters. I always prefered the Eric with his memories ….

        • Uh, yeah, I never said anything about Alex’s performance. He’s amazing in any role he takes on, I just didn’t care for the movie in general, same with Straw Dogs. It has nothing to do with him. I wouldn’t want him to play the romantic guy all the time, not that he’s ever done that much and I’m okay with that. I like that he challenges himself with the roles he takes on, it shows what a great actor he is.

          • Don’t try to school me for doing the exact same thing you did: sharing my opinion about a film. I said that I like Alex’s performance in 13. He’s one of my all-time favorite actors. He’s real, and as an audience member/person I instinctively gravitate toward and embrace artists who are real (for more on artists keeping it real, I suggest checking out Mariska Hargitay on Bravo’s Inside the Actors Studio. She also talks about her and Alex’s co-star Christopher Meloni).

            I am WELL aware that Alex “doesn’t want to play only romantic guys” and that is one of the many things I LOVE about his work. As I didn’t clarify my opinions earlier, I will now: I personally also find VERY dark subject matter (usually) interesting. I have no problem with the existence of and/or watching work that deals with Russian Roulette. My “issues” with 13 are: 1) overall I feel the writing (regardless of the subject matter) could have been stronger, and 2) I wish they had hired a better actor to play the lead character. I also feel the film could have benefited from more Alex in it, but I usually feel that way about his projects, so what can I do? 🙂 I personally like when I feel writers are either trying to say something compelling, and/or are about enjoying their work (and trying to get the audience to enjoy it with them). “Dark” subject matter or not. I personally don’t find 13 an enjoyable or particularly compelling film. It feels half-baked to me, like it could have been more but just didn’t quite rise to the occasion. My opinion. And Alex has also said that we all have dark AND light sides. And I agree with him on that.

            I have stated here numerous times that I can’t wait to see Diary of a Teenage Girl, in which Alex’s character does things that he should NOT be doing with the title character (I was going to use a certain word to describe what the character is, but it would have given a plot point away for those who don’t want to be spoiled). If I’m allowed to keep sharing my opinions, I also didn’t totally love the writing for Straw Dogs (and wish that stronger actors had been hired to play the characters played by James Marsden and Kate Bosworth), although I loved Alex’s complex performance as a rapist/abuser character. And I always preferred Eric Northman when he was written by Alan Ball, memories AND no memories.

          • Now I’m really confused, I never said anything about your comment, shinealite, unless you meant to respond to andrea’s. Either way, we’re all entitled to our own opinions. One thing we can agree on is that we all love Alex, it’s nothing to get worked up about.

    • Ive seen it. it was definitely an intense independent film, not one of my favorites of his though.

      I can find it on demand (sometimes) on one of the movie channels.

Comments are closed.

