9 Comments

Skars-A-Thon: The East

10681503_644926285624303_1822404374_n

True Blood has been television history for over a month now and principle photography on Alexander Skarsgard’s latest big (top secretly gaurded) project, Tarzan The Untamed ended on Friday. So it must be time for another chapter in our Skars-a-thon, and today we look to The East.

east

The What: Written by Brit Marling and Zal Batmanglij, The East follows Jane (Marling), an operative for a private intelligence firm, who is assigned to an underground anarchist organization that has launched several attacks against corporations in an attempt to expose their corruption. Changing her name to Sarah and changing her appearance, she joins the group and begins to learn that each member has been personally affected by the actions of Corporate America.

east2

The Who: Alex plays Benji, the charismatic leader of the group to whom Sarah/Jane becomes increasingly attracted. Brit Marling told reporters at the time of the movie’s release that they wanted Alex for the role after witnessing his amazing screen presence in True Blood.

use

The Why: Critics generally agreed that The East was an accomplished thriller.

“Tense, thoughtful, and deftly paced, The East is a political thriller that never loses sight of the human element.”

I would definitely say that it is a movie which gets better on second viewing. The cast, which also includes Patricia Clarkson and Ellen Page, are an enormously talented group. Alex’s role as Benji is central to the movie and his relationship with Sarah/Jane is probably the most interesting aspect. And wow (if we needed reminding) that boy can give us a great on-screen kiss to remember!

If I have one issue with The East, then it is probably that the ending seems a little rushed. However it certainly wouldn’t put me off checking out more of Brit Marling’s work (something else on my “things to do now True Blood is over” list).

You can buy The East on DVD.

About Evie

Admin at "Skarsgard Fans", "Eric Northman Lovers" and "Tarzan Movie 2016". True Blood's Viking Vampire is the fictional love of my life.

9 comments on “Skars-A-Thon: The East

  1. Hey Evie, The East is one of my personal favorites of Alexs’ films. He does command the screen whenever he appears. The acting all the way around is fantastic. I really enjoyed Brits’ performance also, along with the rest of the cast. I really wanted Sarah/Jane to take off with Benji at the end, but it just wasn’t meant to be. It was a very well written film. I give it 5 out of 5 Skarstars!!!!

    Thanks for posting and hope to hear more from you soon…….

    • I always want the girl to end up with Alex’s character LOL
      I’m so looking forward to seeing Jane end up with Tarzan 🙂

      • Aren’t they already together in this movie?

        • This is for tammydevil83. I would have posted this under “It’s a Skars-a-Thon: Generation Kill” but the comments section there is closed. This is the first time I’ve been on ESL since around September 23 or so. My last reply here (under the GK post) was in response to someone else’s response to some OTHER comments I made over there. I should have clarified that at the time. It had NOTHING to do with you. I agree with you that we’re all entitled to our opinions. At the time, I felt disrespected (again, NOT by you), and I lashed out.

          Maybe I was right, maybe I was wrong, maybe I was somewhere in the middle, but that’s how I felt at that time. Now I’m back. Maybe (lol). I’m a little busy right now…

          Back to this topic: I love The East too. I have it on DVD. I wish I had time to watch it again. Someday…

          I know there are pics of Alex and Margot Robbie (among other people I didn’t recognize) at the wrap party for Tarzan floating around the Interwebs. Twitter and such.

        • Yeah Tammy – Jane is with Tarzan at the start, the middle and the end, that’s why I love her already, she’s a woman of good sense 🙂

  2. Actually Evie, I have to agree with you about the ending. They were different versions filmed, one including Sarah/Jane’s death by drowing if I remember well, when trying to stop Alex’s escape … It’s typical of Indies movies ! they have a smart idea to start with, but not necessarly the exit in sight ! It all comes down to the writing. And it was a little bit immature in this case …except that the acting and the filming were so good, that we got taken away anyway …. I guess Brit Marling and Zal Batmanglij will learn from their mistakes on The East and deliver on their next project. I’ll be watching them ….
    SO, ALEX IS DONE FILMING TARZAN ??? Are we going to see and hear more from him now ?????

    • I saw the alternative endings and the one on the boat I just didn’t get at all, but now it makes more sense, with you saying she was trying to stop his escape – so glad they didn’t go with that one, would have been too depressing!

      I’m guessing Alex will take some time off if he is finished with Tarzan for now (I expect there will still be loads for him to do on that movie post-photography), he has been working solidly all year. At least if he goes over to LA though we might get a nice glimpse or two of him 🙂

      • Alex contemplates to move to NYC. He is looking for a place to buy, so he said, and maybee also for a role to play at the theater…. They should rent an entire stadium if he does !! Hopefully not an Ibsen part … but something light and funny.
        At least, you’re right, we’ll be able to get new pictures of him soon again now that he has been released from his Tarzan cell ….I imagine that he has put on some extra shapes for the role and grow his hair longer ! We’ll see …

  3. Reblogged this on idream3223 Fanfiction & Other Writing and commented:
    Love this movie. 🙂

Comments are closed.

